Impending Spring

photo 1

Spring is coming to the garden. The magnolia tree is looking glorious, and the camellia has started to put out flowers. There are bulbs popping up all over the place, and I saw the first signs of life on the bare-rooted roses and the dormant pomegranate, and the tiniest speck of a bud on the Denise blueberry. It’s not just a stick after all!

I’m harvesting plenty of lettuce, rocket, silverbeet and herbs, as well as our first Tahitian lime. Keep forgetting to take photos, though.

I also planted my first seeds for summer on the weekend – tomato, eggplant and capsicum. If the veggie beds aren’t in on time, I’ll just grow them in pots. I’ve never grown eggplant or capsicum before, so here’s hoping I don’t screw it up. I’m using one of those little plastic greenhouses, but with toilet rolls so I don’t have to fish out the seedlings once they’re ready to be planted – I can either plant them roll and all, or peel the roll off.

photo 2

Leave a Reply

