Planning

I’ve spent the winter creating and revising my garden plan, and I’m getting pretty happy with it. I’ve read up on crop rotation and companion planting and plant families – there’s lots of contradictory advice out there!

I’m going to try square foot planting in four 2.4x1m raised wicking worm beds, although the exact spacings and numbers I’ll play by ear a bit. This year will be all about experimenting. I also have to do some thinking about sun and trellises, so they don’t shade things.

photo copy

Bed 1: Solanacae

  • Tomato (I’ll talk more about specific varieties in future posts)
  • Capsicum
  • Eggplant
  • Basil

Bed 2: Cucurbits, umbelliferae & sweet potatoes

  • cucumber
  • zucchini
  • watermelon
  • rockmelon (the melons will ramble down over the lawn)
  • carrot
  • celery
  • sweet potato

Bed 3: Brassicas and lettuces

  • Brussells sprouts
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • lettuce
  • rocket
  • radish

Bed 4: Beets and beans

  • beetroot
  • silverbeet
  • broadbeans
  • edamame
  • parsley
  • coriander

In winter, some crops will change. Bed 1 will fill with alliums, Bed 2 will get a green manure crop and Bed 4’s beans will become peas. Then everything is rotated in Year 2.

To plan my garden I used the GardenPlan app for iPad from Growveg.com, which is a really awesome way to plan a garden. It has lots of useful crop rotation tools – I just wish there was a southern hemisphere setting for the month-by-month plans!

3 thoughts on “Planning

  1. This is so exciting! Can’t wait to see it in progress.

  2. Your squashes and melons & sweet potatoes will probably overwhelm your carrots unless you can offset them in time and get the carrots out before the vines take over.

Leave a Reply

