The Sound of Worms

The wicking beds have one extra feature – each has its own mini worm farm.

 

I used a bunch of $4 bins from Kmart – I think they’re 5 litres. Drilled holes all round (so the worms can get in and out).

photo 1-1

 

Buried in the garden beds, and then filled with straw, damp shredded newspaper, and WORMS.

photo 3

Once they’ve had a day or two to settle in, I’ll start giving them finely chopped (or roughly blended) kitchen scraps. The plan is that the worm juice will fertilise the soil, and the brave worms will travel in and out of their little house, aerating the soil. photo 2-1

2 thoughts on “The Sound of Worms

  1. That is such an awesome idea. I’ll be waiting eagerly for an update on how it goes!

  2. I love this idea! I have seen it using pipes as well. I am definitely going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

